| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Files spread between Dropbox, Google Drive, Gmail, Slack, and more? Dokkio, a new product from the PBworks team, integrates and organizes them for you. Try it for free today.

View
 

Message-Moderation-Classic (redirected from Message Moderation)

Page history last edited by Shal 9 years, 8 months ago

This page describes the options which control message moderation in Yahoo Groups, and how to use these options for various types of groups.

 


 

Overview

 

When a message is sent to a group's message posting address there are three options which control how the message is handled. These are:

 

  • The group's Who can post? option.
  • The sender's Message Posting Privilege.
  • The group's Moderation option.

 

When a message is received each of these are applied in turn. If the sender is allowed to post, by the criteria of Who can post?, then the message is handled according to any override in the sender's Message Posting Privilege, otherwise it is moderated or not according to the group's Moderation option.

 

 

Who can Post?

 

This group option is found on the Posting/Archive Options page. From the group's home page follow these links:

 

Management  >  Group Settings, Messages  >  Posting and Archives (Edit)

 

 

Anyone means that non-members as well as members may post. This selection is best used in conjunction with the more restrictive selections of the Moderaton option, described below.

 

Members means that only members of the group may post messages. This is the default and likely the most common selection for groups.

 

Moderators means that only group moderators or owners may post messages. This selection can be useful for creating groups that are used for distributing announcements only.

 

Off means that no new messages can be posted.

 

 

Message Posting Privilege

 

This member privilege is found on the Edit Message Posting Privileges page.This page can be reached in a couple of ways, but the primary method is via the group's Members list.

 

From the group's home page click on Members to open up the Members list. Then find the entry for the member in question. Click the pencil icon ("Edit Membership") for that member.

 

 

The pencil icon brings up the Edit Membership page. Scroll down to the Membership Privileges of that page and find the Posting Messages privilege.

 

 

The Edit link brings up the Edit Message Posting Privileges page.

 

 

Use current group message posting setting is the default for new members, unless the group's Moderation option is set to New members. In most cases this is the best selection for trustworthy members as it still allows the group to be switched to moderation in the event of a flame war, spam or virus outbreak.

 

Messages posted by this member are not moderated. This selection is not recommended, even for group owners or moderators, as their email addresses may still be spoofed by spammers, viruses or even group malcontents.

 

Messages posted by this member are moderated is the default for new members if the group's Moderation option is set to New members. It is also suitable for any member who has been disruptive to the group.

 

This member can't post messages. This selection may be useful for members who should never be allowed to post, but still may receive messages and participate in other ways (it is less severe than removal or banning).

 

 

Moderation

 

This group option is found on the Posting/Archive Options page, below the Who can post? option. From the group's home page follow these links:

 

Management  >  Group Settings, Messages  >  Posting and Archives (Edit)

 

 

The group Moderation option may be overridden by the sender's Message Posting Privilege, described above; if no override is set for the sender then it operates as follows:

 

Unmoderated means that messages are posted directly to the group without moderator intervention.

 

Moderated means that messages are held in the Messages Pending folder pending moderator action.

 

New members has two effects. First, if non-members are allowed to post their messages are held in the Messages Pending folder, while messages from members are posted directly. Second, it changes the default Message Posting Privilege for new members so that their messages will be held pending moderator action. The new member's privilege will retain this override until removed by a moderator.

 

 

Use Cases

 

Some examples of how the options can be coordinated to manage different styles of discussion groups.

 

Full Moderation

 

[Please write me]

 

New Member Moderation

 

[Please write me]

 

No or Minimal Moderation

 

[Please write me]

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.